Starbucks and Me

Ok, I will admit I am slightly biased when it comes to Starbucks as I worked in one of their branches for almost two years. I can’t speak for the whole world, but in England I found them to be a fantastic company to work for. As a part-timer using it to pay my bills while studying at Uni, I couldn’t have asked for a better job. The pay was decent, (around the £6.50/hour mark – I’ve worked for much less!), the hours flexible and I also got sick pay AND holiday pay to boot! And free coffee. Lots and lots of coffee. That came in very handy during my finals!

I know big corporations get a lot of flak in this day and age but I always admired Starbucks’ efforts to help the communities they sourced their coffee from. I’m sure it’s not perfect (and don’t get me started on their attitude towards the military), but with a lot of their coffee moving over to FairTrade I think there is some sense of a nicer way to do business.

Even after I left my job, I still always pick a Starbucks coffee over any other when I’m out and about. I can’t help it. Vanilla lattes = a little slice of happiness.

So with all that in mind, I was so happy to read this article in the news this morning: Christian Pastor Calls For Starbucks Boycott Over Gay Marriage Support.

Starbucks has joined more than 100 other firms in supporting Washington State’s same-sex marriage bill. Good for them!

I make no secret of the fact that I am fully in support of same-sex marriages. While in San Francisco I was more than happy to sign a petition calling for the elimination of Prop. 8 and have a chat with the people out gathering the signatures. I was only sad that, as a non-American, I couldn’t really do any more than add my name to a list. At the same time I was very very relived that I live in a country that, though does still have issues, is much more open and free about people living the life they want.

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Starbucks and Me”

  1. horny hot says :

    It frequently amazes me just how Blog writers for example yourself can find enough time along with the dedication to carry on Composing great content your blog https://charleypie.wordpress.com/2012/02/04/starbucks-and-me/?like=1 is superb and one of my own have to read blogs and forums, I was more than pleased with the blog post Starbucks and Me CharleyPie I just needed to say thanks and also well done Best wishes horny hot

Leave a Reply

